GLP 1 weight loss coverage shrinks as studies find no savings
Big employers are dropping weight loss cover for 2027 after a five year study found other medical spending rose about 22 cents per drug dollar. Medicare pays $245 a month through a Bridge that ends in December 2027.
Who feels it
-
Patients
Rethink
Check your 2027 formulary for Wegovy and Zepbound by name and ask in writing whether cash fills count toward your deductible.
-
Payers
Rethink
Studies show added medical spending, not savings, while Medicare pays $245 and employers rely on confidential rebates.
-
Prescribers
Adjust
Expect more prior authorizations, diabetes only coverage and patients stopping mid treatment; plan the last covered fill with them.
-
Pharmacies
Worth knowing
More cash claims and deductible questions as weight loss cover drops, plus Medicare Bridge fills at the $50 copay.
-
Sellers
Worth knowing
Lost cover pushes some patients toward cash routes; it does not change the rules on compounded or unapproved copies.
Large US employers are cutting GLP 1 weight loss coverage for 2027 just as open enrollment starts, and new spending research gives them a reason. A five year study of 288,907 people with job based insurance found the drugs did not pay for themselves, according to an October 27 report in Dr. Céline Gounder's newsletter Underlying Conditions. Medicare is moving the other way, paying drugmakers $245 a month under a deal that ends in 2027. Below is who pays, who loses cover and what is still unknown.
Employers pull back before open enrollment
Walmart told workers in an October 13 letter from chief people officer Donna Morris that from 2027 its plan will charge nothing for Ozempic and Mounjaro when they treat type 2 diabetes, with prior authorization required. The same drugs stay off the plan when they are prescribed only for weight loss, according to SHRM. Ozempic shares its active ingredient, semaglutide, with Wegovy, and Mounjaro shares tirzepatide with Zepbound. That split matters because the drugs can delay the disease that unlocks free access. A three year tirzepatide trial in adults with obesity and prediabetes saw type 2 diabetes develop in 1.3% of treated people, against 13.3% of those given placebo. Under the Walmart design, the zero cost benefit starts only after that diagnosis arrives.
The wider numbers point the same way. Among large employers surveyed by the Business Group on Health, the share offering GLP 1 weight loss coverage slid to 60% this year from 72% a year earlier. A separate survey we reported this week showed a similar slide in employer drug coverage for weight loss. Starbucks ended its weight loss benefit in October, and the insurer Cigna dropped it for its own staff on July 1. SHRM's 2026 benefits survey found 47% of employers paying for GLP 1 drugs in type 2 diabetes but only 15% paying for weight management. Jenny Goins, who leads the National Alliance of Healthcare Purchaser Coalitions, told Gounder that 68% of employers answering her group's 2026 survey had restricted access to some patients or were weighing it.
| Payer | Move on GLP 1 drugs | Figure | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Walmart | Ozempic and Mounjaro free for type 2 diabetes with prior authorization; weight loss use not covered | $0 for diabetes | 2027 plan year |
| Large employers in Business Group on Health survey | Share covering the drugs for obesity | 72% to 60% | Last year to this year |
| Starbucks | Ended weight loss coverage | Not disclosed | October 2026 |
| Cigna for its own employees | Dropped weight loss coverage | Not disclosed | July 1 2026 |
| Massachusetts commercial plans | Fewer people using the drugs for weight loss | 112,000 fewer or 52% | Early 2026 vs 2025 |
| Medicare GLP 1 Bridge | Copay for Wegovy, Zepbound or Foundayo; price paid to makers | $50 copay and $245 | July 2026 to December 31 2027 |
What GLP 1 cost offset studies show
The employer case rests on spending data. A team of economists from Indiana University, the University of Wisconsin and the University of Southern California tracked 288,907 people with job based insurance over the five years after each began a GLP 1 drug, Gounder reports. Other medical spending went up by roughly 22 cents for each dollar spent on the GLP 1 drug itself, measured before rebates. Co-author Daniel Sacks told Gounder that adding rebates would push that figure higher, since rebates lower the drug bill without touching the extra care. Most people in the study began on older GLP 1 drugs from 2017 through 2019. Semaglutide users showed no clear rise or fall in other spending across two years, and Sacks expects tirzepatide answers to take several more years.
Other medical spending went up by roughly 22 cents for each dollar spent on the GLP 1 drug itself, measured before rebates.
Gounder cites three other studies that also found no savings. One, a Blue Cross claims preprint that has not been peer reviewed, matched 742,824 commercially insured adults who started a GLP 1 drug with the same number of similar members and tracked them for up to six years. Among people without diabetes, costs outside the drug ran 9% to 10% higher. A JAMA Network Open cohort of 23,522 adults at Sentara Healthcare and Yale New Haven Health found that spending, excluding semaglutide, rose about $80 a month in the second year of use. Jonathan Zhang of Duke, a co-author of one of the studies, told Gounder that savings show up only in simulations that look a decade or more ahead.
How the Medicare GLP 1 Bridge prices the same drugs
Medicare chose the opposite path this summer. The Medicare GLP 1 Bridge, open since July, lets eligible enrollees fill Wegovy, Zepbound or the new Lilly pill Foundayo for a flat $50 copay each month. Program rules fix what drugmakers receive from Medicare at $245 per month of treatment. HHS chief counselor Chris Klomp put enrollment at roughly 1.1 million people in October. Only people with Medicare drug coverage can join, and the window to pick up that coverage closes December 7. Not every enrollee qualifies, and the rules for the $50 copay depend on body weight and diagnosis. CMS has not said what replaces the program after it closes on December 31, 2027, so people who join now face a second decision later.
CMS Administrator Dr. Mehmet Oz argued on Face the Nation in August that at $50 a month "all the downstream costs that would have been incurred no longer happen." The research cited above has not found such savings. A 2024 Congressional Budget Office analysis estimated that permanent Medicare coverage would raise federal spending by $35 billion across nine years, using the prices it assumed at the time. A study of veterans averaging about 65 years old also found no savings. Employers that keep GLP 1 weight loss coverage pay more than Medicare does. Lilly's direct offer to employers prices Zepbound at $449 a month, and Goins said that price "doesn't appear to be much lower" than what many already paid after rebates. Those rebates sit in confidential pharmacy benefit manager contracts.
Cash prices and deductibles after coverage ends
Not everyone who loses GLP 1 weight loss coverage keeps taking the drugs. Massachusetts counted 112,000 fewer commercially insured residents on a weight loss GLP 1 in early 2026 versus a year before, a 52% fall, according to the state's own data. A Health Policy Commission spokesperson told Gounder the agency believes some of them now pay out of pocket, which runs roughly $4,200 to $5,400 a year. At West Virginia University, Dr. Laura Davisson estimates that over half of her patients quit at first when cover ended. Among 17,604 adults with heart disease and excess weight, none of them diabetic, semaglutide cut a combined measure of heart attack, stroke and cardiovascular death by 20%. In a separate trial, people who quit semaglutide put back about two thirds of their lost weight within a year.
Paying cash may not count toward a deductible. A Cigna document reviewed by Reuters told staff that cash purchases would not count, and a Cigna statement to Gounder did not say whether that still holds. Cigna also owns the pharmacy benefit manager Express Scripts, which agreed in a Federal Trade Commission settlement to credit some cash purchases once legal groundwork is in place. Vanderbilt health policy professor Stacie Dusetzina estimates that GLP 1 cash prices run $350 to $450 a month for the injections. During open enrollment, check whether Wegovy and Zepbound appear by name on the plan's formulary, ask what prior authorization, weight cutoffs and coaching rules apply, and get the deductible answer in writing. Anyone losing cover can plan the transition with their doctor before the last covered fill.
Conclusion
Employers are trimming GLP 1 weight loss coverage because real world studies so far show the drugs add to medical spending rather than offsetting it, while the health gains in trials are real and fade when people stop. Medicare pays a lower negotiated price through 2027, with no announced plan after that. Tirzepatide cost data, rebate effects and Cigna's deductible policy remain open questions. This is research reporting, not medical advice.
Source Dr. Céline Gounder, Underlying Conditions, Oct 27 2026; Blue Cross claims preprint on medRxiv; JAMA Network Open semaglutide cohort (Aug 2025)
Sources
- Do GLP-1 drugs pay for themselves? What five years of data show (Underlying Conditions, Dr. Céline Gounder)
- medRxiv preprint 10.1101/2025.10.24.25338255 on GLP 1 drug costs in Blue Cross Blue Shield claims
- Changes in Cardiovascular Risk Factors and Health Care Expenditures Among Patients Prescribed Semaglutide (JAMA Network Open)
Spotted an error? Tell us through the contact form; we follow the corrections policy.